What is the Menopause?

what is the menopause

The menopause is a natural phase for every woman, and usually occurs around the age of 45 to 55. The menopause consists of three phase:

The first phase is Perimenopause

The second phase is Menopause

The third phase is PostMenopause

The perimenopause phase prepares our body for what is to come, and during this time, our reproductive hormones; oestrogen, progesterone and testosterone fluctuate and fall significantly, which has the ovaries shrinking and pausing its regular flow of producing eggs.

As a result our period becomes progressively more irregular and eventually, marking the end of our fertility and no longer able to become pregnant. Perimenopause can last anywhere between a few months to several years. The menopause phase occurs when there is complete stop in our menstruation cycle for one entire year. This marks a full transition into the menopause and postmenopause is recognised as the immediate phase that follows on from here.

If you need further support and guidance for the menopause, make an appointment to have a discussion with your doctor. 


<< Back to Menopause Guide



Become™️ has a wonderful team of experts who all helped in the writing of this content. The opinions expressed within this page are the opinions of many people we asked, and from information we researched online. Become™️ is not responsible for the accuracy, completeness, suitability, or validity of any information on this page. All information is provided on an as-is basis.


Become ™

Our 60-day money-back guarantee and hassle-free returns on US & UK orders mean you can try our clothing risk-free.

Stay Cool with Become